## The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

## DRAFT Minutes February 24, 2016

**Present:** Elana Buch, Jennifer Buckley, Amy Butler, Kung-Sik Chan, Peter Chanthanakone, Robert Cook, Roxanna Curto, Rodica Curtu, Emilie Destruel-Johnson, Douglas Dion, Aniruddha Dutta, Brian Ekdale, Sabine Gölz, Amanda Haes, Michael Hill, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Erin Irish, Anita Jung, Surjit Khurana, Nathan Platte, Amy Poremba, Yasmine Ramadan, Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Richard Roller, Christine Shea, Steven Spangler, Glenn Storey, Wenfang Tang, Andrew Todd, Richard Turner, Kasturi Varadarajan, Ion Bogdan Vasi, Stephen Warren, Frank Weirich, Marc Wold, Katie Wolfe, Rita Zajacz

**Absent (Excused):** Björn Anderson, Russell Ganim, Shawn Goodman, Joni Kinsey, Randall McEntaffer, Bob McMurray, Thomas Oates, Lisa Schlesinger, Carrie Swanson, Stephen Voyce

**Absent:** Melissa Duff, Elena Gavruseva, Brian Gollnick, Philip Kaaret, Kyungmin Kim, Yasemin Mohammad, Tlaloc Rivas, Michael Sakamoto, James Tamerius

**Guests:** Annette Beck, David Cunning, Helena Dettmer, Kathryn Hall, Maggie Jesse, David Ryfe, Jenna Supp-Montgomerie

**CLAS Administration:** Jennifer Bertrand, Jon Burke

- Professor Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Vice Chair of the Faculty Assembly, announced that
  the Faculty Assembly Nominating Committee has been formed and is seeking names of
  interested faculty members to serve as Vice Chair/Chair Elect (3 year term) and
  Secretary (1 year term) for Faculty Assembly in 2016-2017. Names may be forwarded
  to the committee in advance of the April 27, 2016, Faculty Assembly meeting.
  Nominating Committee members are Professor Katina Lilios, Department of
  Anthropology, Professor Amy Poremba, Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences,
  and Professor Steven Spangler, Department of Physics & Astronomy. The Vice Chair also
  reminded Faculty Assembly that the FA meeting on March 30, 2016, will include updates
  from Faculty Assembly subcommittees.
- 2. The minutes from January 27, 2016, were approved.
- 3. Professor David Cunning, Chair, Department of Philosophy, and member of the CLAS TIER Advisory Group provided an update on the group's membership and activities. The advisory group has focused on IT and finance issues thus far, and is working to ensure that the implementation of efficiencies, such as University Shared Services, is properly sensitive to the research, teaching, and service needs of the university and its students. He also answered questions from the floor.
- 4. Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs & Curriculum, and the Humanities Helena Dettmer relayed to Faculty Assembly that she and Dean Chaden Djalali have discussed with Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education Lon Moeller concerns regarding changes to Student Disability Services accommodation practices implemented this spring, which placed additional responsibilities on faculty and departments. Changes

were necessary because of a large increase in the number of students seeking academic accommodations in the fall semester. Associate Dean Dettmer will continue to work with Associate Provost Moeller regarding improvements in providing students with accommodations for the fall 2016 semester.

- 5. Professor David Ryfe, Director, School of Journalism & Mass Communication (SJMC), presented a proposal for an undergraduate certificate in Media Entrepreneurialism, previously approved by the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee. The proposed certificate, a variant of the certificate in Entrepreneurial Management, would be offered in collaboration with the Tippie College of Business and have SJMC as its administrative home. The certificate includes 27 semester hours of required and elective courses. Students will be encouraged, but not required, to complete an internship. The proposal was approved.
- 6. Professor Jenna Supp-Montgomerie, Departments of Communication Studies and Religious Studies, presented a proposal for an undergraduate minor in Religion and Media, previously approved by the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee. Only one other university in the country offers a similar program of study, but the proposed minor is the first to include course work from the disciplines of Religious Studies and Communication Studies equally. A total of 18 semester hours would be required for the minor, which will have its administrative home in the Department of Religious Studies. The proposal was approved.
- 7. Maggie Jesse, Senior Director, ITS Office of Teaching, Learning & Technology, provided an update to Faculty Assembly on the University of Iowa's membership in Unizin, and the Canvas pilot and adoption plans. Unizin is a consortium of like-minded institutions representing over 730,000 students, with a goal of improving the learning experience by providing an environment built on collaboration, data, standards, and scale. Since summer 2015, a successful pilot of the Canvas learning management system has been conducted at the University with a variety of courses. Adoption of Canvas as a replacement for Desire2Learn, the software currently used for ICON, will likely begin in summer 2016, will full implementation by summer 2017. A final decision on migration to Canvas, as well as a finalized timeline, will be made in mid-March. She also answered questions from the floor regarding the migration process for Canvas, and archiving data from the current system.
- 8. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Professor Glenn Storey, Departments of Classics and Anthropology Secretary of the Faculty Assembly