People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Name Phone E-mail Office

Robert R. Cargill

Assistant Professor, Judaism and Christianity, Joint appointment with Department of Classics

319-335-1996

robert-cargill@uiowa.edu

209 JB

Diana Fritz Cates

Departmental Chair, Professor, Religious Ethics

319-335-2162

diana-cates@uiowa.edu

316 Gilmore Hall

Paul Dilley

Assistant Professor, Ancient Mediterranean Religions, Joint appointment with the Department of Classics

319-335-2168

paul-dilley@uiowa.edu

406 Gilh

Jay A. Holstein

J.J. Mallon Teaching Chair in Judaic Studies

319-335-3716

jay-holstein@uiowa.edu

313 Gilh

Raymond A. Mentzer

Daniel J. Krumm Family Chair in Reformation Studies, Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History

319-335-2161

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

305 GILH

Kristy Nabhan-Warren

V.O. and Elizabeth Kahl Figge Fellow in Catholic Studies

319-335-2167

kristy-nabhan-warren@uiowa.edu

309 Gilh

Michelene E. Pesantubbee

Associate Professor, American Indian Native Studies

319-335-2116

michelene-pesantubbe@uiowa.edu

312 Gilh

Morten Schl├╝tter

Associate Professor, Chinese Religion and Buddhist Studies

319-335-2165

morten-schlutter@uiowa.edu

311 Gilh

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, Sanskrit and Classical Indian Religions, Joint appt. with the Dept. of Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures

319-335-2178

frederick-smith@uiowa.edu

319 Gilh

Ahmed E. Souaiaia

Associate Professor, Islamic Studies, Adjunct Faculty (College of Law)

319-353-2845

ahmed-souaiaia@uiowa.edu

404 Gilh

Jenna Supp-Montgomerie

Assistant Professor, Religion and Media, American Religious History, Globalization, Critical Theory

319-335-2177

jenna-supp-montgomerie@uiowa.edu

408 Gilh

Richard Brent Turner

Professor, African American Religious History, Interdisciplinary program faculty (African American Studies and International Studies)

319-335-2175

richard-turner@uiowa.edu

310 Gilh

Visiting Professors and Lecturers

Name Phone E-mail Office

Robert Gerstmyer

Lecturer

319-353-2713

robert-gerstmyer@uiowa.edu

407 Gilh

Patricia Johnston

Visiting Assistant Professor

319-335-0105

patricia-johnston@uiowa.edu

303 Gilh

Jordan Smith

Lecturer, Biblical Studies

319-335-2169

jordan-a-smith@uiowa.edu

409 GH

Staff

Name Phone E-mail Office

Robin Burns

Administrative Services Coordinator

319-335-2164

robin-burns@uiowa.edu

314 GH

Maureen Walterhouse

Administrative Assistant

319-335-3715

maureen-walterhouse@uiowa.edu

320 Gilh