Faculty

American Politics, Political Methodology
Name Office Office hours Email

Frederick J. Boehmke

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
363 SH M 10:00-11:00am (808 JB), T 10:30-11:30am (363 SH), TH 9:30-10:30am (363 SH)

and by appointment

frederick-boehmke@uiowa.edu

Julianna Pacheco

Assistant Professor
326 SH M 11:30 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

julianna-pacheco@uiowa.edu

Caroline J. Tolbert

Professor; Director of PhD Placement
321 SH T, Th 11:00 – 1:00pm

and by appointment

caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu

American Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

G.R. Boynton

Professor
340 SH M, W, F 11:30 – 12:30pm

and by appointment

bob-boynton@uiowa.edu

Cary R. Covington

Associate Professor
305 SH T, Th 10:30-12:00pm

and by appointment

cary-covington@uiowa.edu

Timothy M. Hagle

Associate Professor
347 SH T 4:45 – 6:15pm & Th 2:00 – 3:30pm

and by appointment

timothy-hagle@uiowa.edu

Jim Leach

Visiting Professor
359 SH Th 1:30-4:30pm

and by appointment

james-leach@uiowa.edu

Tracy Osborn

Associate Professor
375 SH T, Th 10:30 – 12:00pm

tracy-osborn@uiowa.edu

Tom W. Rice

Faculty Director
Des Moines Email for appointment

tom-rice@uiowa.edu

Rene Rocha

Associate Professor
345 SH T 9:00-11:00am & W 1:00-2:00pm

and by appointment

rene-rocha@uiowa.edu

Kelly Shaw

Des Moines Internship Program
Foyer of Pappajohn Center - Des Moines, IA F 11:00-12:00pm

and by appointment

kelly-shaw@uiowa.edu

Comparative Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

Vicki Hesli Claypool

Professor
309 SH By appointment

vicki-claypool@uiowa.edu

Ambassador Ronald K. McMullen

Lecturer
338 SH T, Th 8:00– 10:00am

and by appointment

ronald-mcmullen@uiowa.edu

William M. Reisinger

Professor
317 SH T 9:30 - 10:45am & 2:00 - 3:00pm ; Th 9:30-10:45am

and by appointment

william-reisinger@uiowa.edu

Wenfang Tang

Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, and C. Maxwell and Elizabeth M. Stanley Family and Hua Hsia Chair of Chinese Culture and Institutions
371 SH By appointment

wenfang-tang@uiowa.edu

American Politics, Political Theory, Political Methodology
Name Office Office hours Email

Douglas Dion

Associate Professor
351 SH W 10:30-12:00pm F 1:00- 2:30pm

and by appointment

douglas-dion@uiowa.edu

Political Theory
Name Office Office hours Email

Paul Gowder

Associate Professor of Law
407 BLB Email for appointment

paul-gowder@uiowa.edu

John S. Nelson

Professor
331 SH T, TH 12:30-1:45pm

and by appointment

john-nelson@uiowa.edu

International Relations
Name Office Office hours Email

Nicholas Grossman

Lecturer
369 SH T, TH 1:00 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

nicholas-grossman@uiowa.edu

Kelly M. Kadera

Associate Professor
373 SH T, Th 2:00-3:30pm

and by appointment

kelly-kadera@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Prorok

Assistant Professor
311 SH M,W 1:30-3:00pm

alyssa-prorok@uiowa.edu

International Relations, Political Methodology
Name Office Office hours Email

Brian Lai

Associate Professor
319 SH M,W 1:45 – 3:20pm

and by appointment

brian-lai@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Menninga

Assistant Professor
314 SH By appointment

elizabeth-menninga@uiowa.edu

Sara Mitchell

Department Chair & Professor
307 SH By appointment

sara-mitchell@uiowa.edu

American Politics, International Relations
Name Office Office hours Email

Nicholas Martini

Visting Assistant Professor
342 SH T 11:00-12:00pm & TH 11:00-1:00pm

and by appointment

nicholas-martini@uiowa.edu

Comparative Politics, Political Methodology
Name Office Office hours Email

Frederick Solt

Assistant Professor
324 SH T, TH 9:30-11:00am

and by appointment

frederick-solt@uiowa.edu