Faculty

American Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

Frederick J. Boehmke

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
308 SH T, Th 3:30 – 4:30pm, W 10:30 – 11:30am

and by appointment

frederick-boehmke@uiowa.edu

G.R. Boynton

Professor
340 SH M, W, F 1:30 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

bob-boynton@uiowa.edu

Cary R. Covington

Associate Professor
305 SH T, Th 10:30 – Noon

and by appointment

cary-covington@uiowa.edu

Douglas Dion

Associate Professor
351 SH T, Th 2:00 – 4:00pm; F 10:30 – Noon

and by appointment

douglas-dion@uiowa.edu

Timothy M. Hagle

Associate Professor
347 SH M 12:00 – 1:30pm & 4:45 – 6:15pm

and by appointment

timothy-hagle@uiowa.edu

Jim Leach

Visiting Professor
359 SH Email for appointment

james-leach@uiowa.edu

Kyle Mattes

Assistant Professor
342 SH W 1:00 – 4:00 pm

and by appointment

kyle-mattes@uiowa.edu

Tracy Osborn

Associate Professor
375 SH T 9:00 – Noon

tracy-osborn@uiowa.edu

Julianna Pacheco

Assistant Professor
326 SH M 9:30 – 12:30pm

and by appointment

julianna-pacheco@uiowa.edu

Tom W. Rice

Professor; Associate Provost for Faculty
359 SH Email for appointment

tom-rice@uiowa.edu

Rene Rocha

Associate Professor
314 SH T,Th 8:30 – 9:30am, W 3:30 – 4:30pm

and by appointment

rene-rocha@uiowa.edu

Kelly Shaw

Des Moines Internship Program
Des Moines Email for appointment

kelly-shaw@uiowa.edu

Caroline J. Tolbert

Professor; Director of PhD Placement
321 SH T,Th 11am – Noon, W 9am – Noon

and by appointment

caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu

Armando Zavaleta

Visiting Assistant Professor
N/A

armando-zavaleta@uiowa.edu

Comparative Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

Vicki Hesli Claypool

Professor
309 SH T, Th 10:30 – 12:00pm

and by appointment

vicki-claypool@uiowa.edu

Ambassador Ronald K. McMullen

Lecturer
338 SH T,Th 8:15 – 9:45am

and by appointment

ronald-mcmullen@uiowa.edu

William M. Reisinger

Professor
317 SH No office hours for fall 2014

william-reisinger@uiowa.edu

Frederick Solt

Assistant Professor
324 SH W, F 9:30 – 11:00am

and by appointment

frederick-solt@uiowa.edu

Wenfang Tang

Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, and C. Maxwell and Elizabeth M. Stanley Family and Hua Hsia Chair of Chinese Culture and Institutions
371 SH M 2:00 - 5:00pm

and by appointment

wenfang-tang@uiowa.edu

International Relations
Name Office Office hours Email

John A.C. Conybeare

Professor
363 SH M 1:00 – 2:30pm, W 2:00 – 3:30pm

and by appointment

john-conybeare@uiowa.edu

Nicholas Grossman

Lecturer
369 SH T, Th 1:00 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

nicholas-grossman@uiowa.edu

Kelly M. Kadera

Associate Professor
373 SH M 1:45-4:45pm

and by appointment

kelly-kadera@uiowa.edu

Brian Lai

Associate Professor
319 SH M 1:30 – 2:20pm, W 1:30 – 3:30pm

and by appointment

brian-lai@uiowa.edu

Sara Mitchell

Department Chair & Professor
307 SH T 3:00 – 4:30pm, W 10:30 – Noon

and by appointment

sara-mitchell@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Prorok

Assistant Professor
311 SH M 12:00 – 3:00pm

and by appointment

alyssa-prorok@uiowa.edu

Political Theory
Name Office Office hours Email

Paul Gowder

Associate Professor of Law
407 BLB Email for appointment

paul-gowder@uiowa.edu

John S. Nelson

Professor
331 SH M, T, W 9:30 – 10:20am

and by appointment

john-nelson@uiowa.edu