The University of Iowa

Faculty

Name Title Area Email
Douglas Baynton Associate Professor American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

Mériam Belli Assistant Professor History of the Modern Middle East

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

Constance H. Berman Professor Medieval Social, Economic, Religious, and Women's History (France and Italy)

constance-berman@uiowa.edu

Shuang Chen Assistant Professor Chinese History

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

Jeffrey L. Cox Professor British Social, Imperial, and Religious History

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

Mariola Espinosa Associate Professor Public Health and Medicine, Empire & Caribbean

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Thomas P. Gallanis Professor of Law Legal History of England and Continental Europe

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

James L. Giblin Professor African History

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

Michel Gobat Associate Professor Modern Latin America, Central America, United States-Latin American Relations

michel-gobat@uiowa.edu

Colin Gordon Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies 20th Century U.S. History

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

Paul R. Greenough Professor History of Modern India, Environmental and Global Health History

paul-greenough@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Heineman Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Modern Germany & Europe Women, Gender, & Sexuality

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Michaela Hoenicke Moore Associate Professor United States in the World , International Relations, Modern European & U.S. History

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

Stephanie Jones-Rogers Assistant Professor Nineteenth Century African-American and American History, Nineteenth Century United States Southern Women's History, History of Slavery in the United States

stephanie-jones-rogers@uiowa.edu

Kathleen Kamerick Lecturer Medieval & Early Modern European History, History of the Book, Women's History

kathleen-kamerick@uiowa.edu

Catherine Komisaruk Associate Professor Latin America

catherine-komisaruk@uiowa.edu

Raymond A. Mentzer Professor of Religious Studies Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Tom Arne Midtrød Assistant Professor Early North America

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Michael E. Moore Associate Professor Medieval and European History

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Rosemary Moore Lecturer Ancient History

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Park Assistant Professor Modern Korean History

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

H. Glenn Penny Associate Professor Modern European History, Modern Germany, Colonialism and Empire, History of Anthropology

h-penny@uiowa.edu

R. Tyler Priest Associate Professor of History and Geography, Twentieth Century U.S. History,, Energy/Environmental History,, Global History,, History of Business & Technology,, Public History

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

Jacki Thompson Rand Associate Professor Native North America

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Leslie A. Schwalm Professor Slavery, Civil War, & Reconstruction, Women's & African-American History, Southern History, 19th Century U.S. History

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Jennifer Sessions Associate Professor of History and Director, Crossing Borders Program Modern France, , European Empires, , Cultural History

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Landon Storrs Associate Professor Twentieth-Century U.S. Social and Political History

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

Katherine H. Tachau Professor Medieval Intellectual History, History of Science, Medieval Universities, Latin Paleography, History of Medieval Manuscript Book

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Omar Valerio-Jiménez Associate Professor Latina/o, Borderlands, 19th-century U.S., & American West

omar-valerio@uiowa.edu

Stephen Vlastos Professor and Chair Modern Japanese History

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu