The University of Iowa

People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Name E-mail Area

Douglas Baynton

Associate Professor

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

Mériam Belli

Assistant Professor

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

History of the Modern Middle East

Constance H. Berman

Professor

constance-berman@uiowa.edu

Medieval Social, Economic, Religious, and Women's History (France and Italy)

Shuang Chen

Assistant Professor

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

Chinese History

Jeffrey L. Cox

Professor

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

British Social, Imperial, and Religious History

Mariola Espinosa

Associate Professor

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Public Health and Medicine, Empire & Caribbean

Thomas P. Gallanis

Professor of Law

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

Legal History of England and Continental Europe

James L. Giblin

Professor

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

African History

Michel Gobat

Associate Professor

michel-gobat@uiowa.edu

Modern Latin America, Central America, United States-Latin American Relations

Colin Gordon

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

20th Century U.S. History

Paul R. Greenough

Professor

paul-greenough@uiowa.edu

History of Modern India, Environmental and Global Health History

Elizabeth Heineman

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Modern Germany & Europe Women, Gender, & Sexuality

Michaela Hoenicke Moore

Associate Professor

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

United States in the World , International Relations, Modern European & U.S. History

Stephanie Jones-Rogers

Assistant Professor

stephanie-jones-rogers@uiowa.edu

Nineteenth Century African-American and American History, Nineteenth Century United States Southern Women's History, History of Slavery in the United States

Kathleen Kamerick

Lecturer

kathleen-kamerick@uiowa.edu

Medieval & Early Modern European History, History of the Book, Women's History

Catherine Komisaruk

Associate Professor

catherine-komisaruk@uiowa.edu

Latin America

Raymond A. Mentzer

Professor of Religious Studies

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History

Tom Arne Midtrød

Assistant Professor

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Early North America

Michael E. Moore

Associate Professor

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Medieval and European History

Rosemary Moore

Lecturer

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Ancient History

Alyssa Park

Assistant Professor

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

Modern Korean History

H. Glenn Penny

Associate Professor

h-penny@uiowa.edu

Modern European History, Modern Germany, Colonialism and Empire, History of Anthropology

R. Tyler Priest

Associate Professor of History and Geography,

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. History,, Energy/Environmental History,, Global History,, History of Business & Technology,, Public History

Jacki Thompson Rand

Associate Professor

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Native North America

Leslie A. Schwalm

Professor

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Slavery, Civil War, & Reconstruction, Women's & African-American History, Southern History, 19th Century U.S. History

Jennifer Sessions

Associate Professor of History and Director, Crossing Borders Program

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Modern France, , European Empires, , Cultural History

Landon Storrs

Associate Professor

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

Twentieth-Century U.S. Social and Political History

Katherine H. Tachau

Professor

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Medieval Intellectual History, History of Science, Medieval Universities, Latin Paleography, History of Medieval Manuscript Book

Omar Valerio-Jiménez

Associate Professor

omar-valerio@uiowa.edu

Latina/o, Borderlands, 19th-century U.S., & American West

Stephen Vlastos

Professor and Chair

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu

Modern Japanese History

Visiting Faculty

Name E-mail Area

Jo Butterfield

Visiting Assistant Professor

jo-butterfield@uiowa.edu

Modern U.S.; Women and Gender, Human Rights

Eric Casteel

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring 2014

eric-casteel@uiowa.edu

History of Science

Nathaniel Chimhete

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring 2014

nathaniel-chimhete@uiowa.edu

African History

Rebecca Church

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring 2014

rebecca-church@uiowa.edu

Medieval Europe & Islam, Early Modern Europe

Yuka Hiruma Kishida

Visiting Assistant Professor, Spring 2014

yuka-kishida@uiowa.edu

Japan, China, US in the World

Angela Miller Keysor

Visiting Assistant Professor

angela-keysor@uiowa.edu

Early British North America to 1820, History of Health Care, Poverty, Race and Gender

Susan Stanfield

Visiting Assistant Professor

susan-stanfield@uiowa.edu

19th Century U.S., Women and Gender, and African American History

David Tucker

Visiting Assistant Professor

david-tucker@uiowa.edu

Asian History (Japan, China)

Michael Zmolek

Visiting Assistant Professor

michael-zmolek@uiowa.edu

World History

Adjunct Faculty

Name E-mail Area

Marvin L. Bergman

Adjunct Assistant Professor

marvin-bergman@uiowa.edu

State Historical Society of Iowa, Editor, The Annals of Iowa

Kären M. Mason

Adjunct Assistant Professor

karen-mason@uiowa.edu

Curator, Iowa Women’s Archives, University of Iowa Libraries

David McCartney

Adjunct Lecturer

david-mccartney@uiowa.edu

University of Iowa Archivist, Special Collections