People

Department Chair

  • Professor, Chair of the Department of French and Italian, Associate Director, Division of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures
    Phone: 319-335-2268
    Office: 551 PH

Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Cinzia Blum

Professor, Chair of the Department of French and Italian, Associate Director, Division of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures
cinzia-blum@uiowa.edu 319-335-2268 551 PH 11:30 - 12:30 M W F, and by appointment

Deborah Contrada

Associate Professor, Dir. of Undergrad Italian Studies
deborah-contrada@uiowa.edu 319-335-2257 510 PH 11:30 - 12:20 M W F, or by appointment

Anny Dominique Curtius

Associate Professor of Francophone Studies, Co-Director of the Caribbean, Diaspora and Atlantic Studies Program
anny-curtius@uiowa.edu 319-335-2261 555 PH 10:30 - 11:30 T, 2:00 - 4:00 Th, and by appointment

Roxanna Curto

Assistant Professor
roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 319-335-2274 573 PH 1:50 - 3:20 M W

Emilie Destruel Johnson

Assistant Professor of French
e-destruel-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2265 514 PH 1:00 - 3:00 Th, 10:00 - 11:00 F

Russell Ganim

Director of Division of World Languages, Interim DEO of Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures, Interim DEO of German Department
russell-ganim@uiowa.edu 319-335-2923 111-A PH 2:00 - 5:00 F, or by appointment

Dénes Gazsi

Assistant Professor of Arabic
denes-gazsi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2279 520 PH 12:30 - 3:30 W

Blandina Giblin

Lecturer of Swahili
blandina-giblin@uiowa.edu 319-335-3612 569 PH 11:00 - 12:00 T Th, 1:30 - 2:30 W, and by appointment

Wendelin Guentner

Professor
wendelin-guentner@uiowa.edu 319-335-2259 557 PH 9:00 - 11:00 T, 9:00 - 9:30 Th

David V. Hagan

Visiting Assistant Professor of French
david-hagan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2273 522 PH 11:30 - 12:30 T, 1:30 - 2:30 W

Geoffrey R. Hope

Professor
geoffrey-hope@uiowa.edu 319-335-2258 565 PH 10:30 - 11:20 M W F

Jack Johnson

Lecturer of French
jack-d-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2266 559 PH 1:45 - 3:15 M W

Michel S. Laronde

Professor of French and Francophone Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Honors Program, and Study Abroad
michel-laronde@uiowa.edu 319-335-2264 563 PH 12:30 - 2:00 T, 2:00 - 3:30 Th, or by appointment

Katja Liimatta

Lecturer of Italian
katja-liimatta@uiowa.edu 319-335-2267 469 PH 12:30 - 1:30 M F, 3:30 - 4:30 W, or by appointment

Irene Lottini

Lecturer of Italian
irene-lottini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH 3:30 - 4:20 M W Th, or by appointment

Beatrice Mkenda

Lecturer of Swahili
beatrice-mkenda@uiowa.edu 319-353-2224 570 PH 10:30 - 11:30 M T W

Roland Racevskis

Professor
roland-racevskis@uiowa.edu 319-335-2252 571 PH 1:30 - 2:30 M W F, or by appointment

Yasmine Ramadan

Assistant Professor of Arabic
yasmine-ramadan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2247 518 PH 1:30 - 3:00 T Th

Claudia Sartini-Rideout

Lecturer of Italian
claudia-sartini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2212 507 PH 10:30 - 11:20 M W F, or by appointment

Rosemarie Scullion

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
rosemarie-scullion@uiowa.edu 319-335-2262 467 PH 9:20 - 12:20 T, or by appointment

Arne Seim

Lecturer of Italian
arne-seim@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH 7:30 - 8:20 M T Th, or by appointment

Downing A. Thomas

Associate Provost and Dean, International Programs Professor
downing-thomas@uiowa.edu 335-0373 1111-C UCC

Steven Ungar

Professor
steven-ungar@uiowa.edu 319-335-1452 W225 AJB 2:30 - 3:30 T, 1:30 - 3:30 W, or by appointment