People

Department Chair

  • Professor, Chair of the Department of French and Italian, Associate Director, Division of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures
    Phone: 319-335-2268
    Office: 551 PH

Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Cinzia Blum

Professor, Chair of the Department of French and Italian, Associate Director, Division of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures
cinzia-blum@uiowa.edu 319-335-2268 551 PH

Deborah Contrada

Associate Professor, Dir. of Undergrad Italian Studies
deborah-contrada@uiowa.edu 319-335-2257 510 PH

Anny Dominique Curtius

Associate Professor of Francophone Studies, Co-Director of the Caribbean, Diaspora and Atlantic Studies Program
anny-curtius@uiowa.edu 319-335-2261 555 PH

Roxanna Curto

Assistant Professor
roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 319-335-2274 573 PH

Russell Ganim

Director of Division of World Languages, Interim DEO of Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures, Interim DEO of German Department
russell-ganim@uiowa.edu 319-335-2923 111-A PH and by appointment

Dénes Gazsi

Assistant Professor of Arabic
denes-gazsi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2279 520 PH

Blandina Giblin

Lecturer of Swahili
blandina-giblin@uiowa.edu 319-335-3612 569 PH

Wendelin Guentner

Professor
wendelin-guentner@uiowa.edu 319-335-2259 557 PH

David V. Hagan

Visiting Assistant Professor of French
david-hagan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2273 522 PH

Geoffrey R. Hope

Professor
geoffrey-hope@uiowa.edu 319-335-2258 565 PH

Emilie Destruel Johnson

Assistant Professor of French
e-destruel-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2265 514 PH

Jack Johnson

Lecturer of French
jack-d-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2266 559 PH

Michel S. Laronde

Professor of French and Francophone Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Honors Program, and Study Abroad
michel-laronde@uiowa.edu 319-335-2264 563 PH

Katja Liimatta

Lecturer of Italian
katja-liimatta@uiowa.edu 319-335-2267 469 PH

Irene Lottini

Lecturer of Italian
irene-lottini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH

Beatrice Mkenda

Lecturer of Swahili
319-353-2224 570 PH

Roland Racevskis

Professor
roland-racevskis@uiowa.edu 319-335-2252 571 PH

Yasmine Ramadan

Assistant Professor of Arabic
319-335-2247 518 PH

Claudia Sartini-Rideout

Lecturer of Italian
claudia-sartini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2212 507 PH

Rosemarie Scullion

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
rosemarie-scullion@uiowa.edu 319-335-2262 467 PH

Arne Seim

Lecturer of Italian
arne-seim@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH

Downing A. Thomas

Associate Provost and Dean, International Programs Professor
downing-thomas@uiowa.edu 335-0373 1111-C UCC

Steven Ungar

Professor
steven-ungar@uiowa.edu 319-335-1452 W225 AJB